2nd Annual Heritage Healthcare Innovation Awards Image

2nd Annual Heritage Healthcare Innovation Awards

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

March 7, 2017 – Heritage Provider Network (HPN), one of the nation’s leading physician led managed care organizations, and Crain’s Custom Studio, a division of Crain’s New York Business, have selected a prestigious panel of judges to evaluate candidates for the 2nd annual Heritage Healthcare Innovation Awards. The partnering organizations chose the panel of judges for their extensive and diverse experience in the healthcare industry.

The awards will showcase those innovators who have most improved the access to and quality of affordable healthcare in the communities they serve in the greater New York area. Judges will assess the nominations to select five finalists in each of the five categories.

Judges include:

  • Mitra Behroozi, Executive Director, 1199SEIU Benefit and Pension Funds
  • Stephen Berger, Chairman, Odyssey Partners
  • Jo Ivey Boufford, MD, President, The New York Academy of Medicine
  • Louise Cohen, CEO, Primary Care Development Corporation
  • Dr. Rosa M. Gil, DSW, President and CEO, Comunilife, Inc.
  • Maria Gotsch, President and CEO, Partnership Fund for New York City
  • Rainu Kaushal, MD, MPH, Professor and Chair, Healthcare Policy & Research Weill Cornell Medicine
  • Mary O’Neil Mundinger, DrPH, Edward M. Kennedy Professor of Health Policy, Dean Emeritus, Columbia University School of Nursing
  • Laurel Pickering, MPH, President and CEO, Northeast Business Group on Health
  • Michael Stocker, MD, Retired CEO, Empire Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Former Board Chairman, New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation
  • Edgar Mandeville, MD, FACOG, Director, Department of OB/GYN, Harlem Hospital

“These judges represent top healthcare leaders and innovators in the New York area healthcare industry,” said Dr. Richard Merkin, President and CEO of HPN. “I’m confident they will bring a critical insight to the judging process so the winners of this award will be able to improve healthcare for New Yorkers and their families, not only providing them with latest advances in healthcare technology, but reducing costs as well.”

“Our Heritage Healthcare Innovation Award judges represent a strong cross section of healthcare leaders always at the center of New York healthcare change. They have spent their careers advocating, implementing, and maintaining that compassionate balance needed for better health, care, and affordability across the rich diversity of need and opportunity that makes up our unique New York healthcare landscape,” said Mark Wagar, President of Heritage Medical Systems.

Winners will be awarded in the following five categories:

Heritage Innovation in Healthcare Delivery Award: Recognizing an innovator in the development of new modes of diagnosis, treatment, and care who actively improves access to services, and improves the quality of healthcare overall.

Heritage Research Investigator in Translational Medicine Award: Awarded to an individual or team based on the most significant quantitative results achieved by accelerating the transition of novel and innovative diagnostic tools and treatments to patients.

Heritage Healthcare Leadership Award: Recognizing a leader in the New York area that has demonstrated significant impact in their healthcare field. This forward-thinker has forever changed the way care systems work through new models, processes, and pathways.

Heritage Healthcare Organizational Leadership Award: Honoring an organization that has fundamentally changed how healthcare is delivered. This organization has created or championed new ways of thinking and doing, uniting diverse constituencies to work together.

Heritage Innovator in Healthcare Award: Highlighting cutting edge applications of technology and up & comers in the healthcare industry. These breakthrough innovators are making significant contributions in the areas of technology, research, or new approaches to healthcare systems.

Nominations will be accepted until midnight March 31, 2017. The online entry point (essay) is available at http://www.crainsnewyork.com/heritage.

Finalists will be announced May 1 and winners will be revealed at a luncheon event in New York City on May 22, 2017. Watch last year’s event: